Don’t Regret Suffering…

Sometimes I need a reminder of the value of suffering…

I have suffered in my life, just like everybody else. Sometimes greatly. Just like everybody else. Sometimes badly. Just like everybody else.

I have also sinned, in my life. Just like everybody else.

But even if I was perfect and without sin, most other folks are not that way. 

Christ suffered for all of us sinners. And we are to take up our cross daily and follow Him and His example.

Mt 16:24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me.

What happened when Jesus died on the cross? He redeemed the world.

What happens when we join our own suffering with His? We are working with him for redemption. It’s called “Redemptive Suffering.”

As Paul tells us in Colossians,

Col 1:24-25 Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am filling up what is lacking in the afflictions of Christ on behalf of his body, which is the church, of which I am a minister in accordance with God’s stewardship given to me to bring to completion for you the word of God,

Christ invites us to join our suffering to His for the conversion, redemption and salvation of poor sinners.

Ourselves included…

BK

And to find out how Christ’s sacrifice could be lacking, go here…

This entry was posted in Catechesis, Catholic interest, Catholic Teaching, justice, Memes, Quotes, Saints, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

