Mary, Queen of Heaven, Pray For Us

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou among women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death.

Amen.

My maternal grandmother was devoted to Jesus through Mary. Every night at 7:00, the Rosary Hour was broadcast over the radio, and the entire household suddenly hit their knees in the living room and prayed the Rosary.

That included any visitors present. No matter what was going on or who was there, ALL activity stopped and you were on your knees for the next fifteen minutes praying the Rosary. Everybody. Nobody escaped. If you were Jewish, you were on your knees praying the rosary.

I spent a LOT of time at my grandparents’ house when I was growing up. A LOT of time. I learned to pray the Rosary before I was in kindergarten. And, maybe even more importantly, I learned to love Mary, the Mother of God. And, through her, Jesus, the only begotten Son of God – the second person of the Holy Trinity. And the Father. And the Holy Spirit.

There was a period of time when I got away from saying the Rosary – years, in fact. While I didn’t realize it was happening, I slowly became far too involved in secular life, concerned mainly with the things of the world. But even in times when I was far from being the person God made me to be, I still felt a deep love for Mary.

Because of that love, I eventually started praying the rosary again and came back around years ago.

Thank you, Lord, for giving me my Grandma Harrigan…

Thank you, Grandma, for leading me to our Mother, Mary, and through her to The Father, Son and Holy Spirit…

And thank you, Mary, for agreeing to be the Mother of Jesus… And for being the Mother of me…

BK

mary-queen-of-heaven-pray-for-us

This entry was posted in Catechesis, Catholic interest, Catholic Teaching, Memes, My Own Stuff, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

