The Rapture Files – Tim Staples

When I was in Vietnam, a friend of mine  loaned me Hal Lindsey’s book “The Late Great Planet Earth”. I read it with rapt attention, especially since I was in a place where it was entirely possible that I could beat the rapture by several years.

While I was reading the book, it hit me that “the rapture” didn’t really matter much because the end of the world could come for me, or anyone else for that matter, any second. Concentrating on the “end times” was sort of a waste of time in my mind because time is going to end for all of us at some point – why not just be ready for that eventuality?

Then came the “Left Behind” series by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins. Friends and family members gobbled down the series as quickly as they could find the books. And they began the process of trying to save me…

With the theatrical release of the film “Left Behind”, I thought it would be appropriate to post Tim Staples’ talk on rapture theory. 

 

This entry was posted in Apologetics, Catechesis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

