Lead Me Home (Your Name Here)

Some time ago, I had two friends. Both had abandoned the Church at a young age. One of them lived on the streets. The other became a rock musician and did a lot of work with some very famous people.

Both fought drug/alcohol addictions for decades. 

Both finally screamed to God for help.

One of them became the music director at my parish. The other became the pastor at my parish. Mark died several years ago – God rest his soul. Fr. Pat has moved on to another parish – as have I.

I wrote this for them, but over time I have come to realize that we all have our varying degrees of addiction to something or other. Something that hinders us from complete surrender to God. Money, entertainment, sex, sports, glamour, glitz, video games – we all have our roadblocks to get around. Some of us are affected more strongly than others.

That really hit me when I sang it at a Lenten penance service a few years ago. Several people came up to me afterward to tell me their stories and to tell me how much the song meant to them.

I started writing this song for Mark and Pat. I guess I also wrote it for (your name here)…

Take a listen. Maybe it will mean something positive to you..

BK

Lead Me Home

This entry was posted in My Own Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

