Dear Father: What I Don't Want At My Funeral

8 Kids And A Business

Posted at Catholic Insight

Dear Father,

About that funeral I attended at your parish: I know you were trying to be nice and consoling and reassuring but can we talk? One day, maybe soon, I’m going to die. If you happen to be the priest celebrating my funeral Mass, then I’m worried.

You know how you let the family deliver a eulogy right after the entrance hymn? I’m not an expert but isn’t that kind of strange and wrong? By allowing the eulogy at that time, it seemed like it was part of the Mass when, of course, it wasn’t. What really concerns me is that the eulogist said things about heaven and about the soul that just weren’t true. If that were my funeral Mass, the eulogist wouldn’t have done me any favours because most of the people in that church would now believe that I’m a canonized saint…

View original post 780 more words

This entry was posted in Catholic interest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

